Providence Seminary

News Releases



Athletic Banquet


On Wednesday, March 27th, Providence Athletics hosted their annual Athletic Banquet. This night is for commemorating graduating athletes and scholar athletes as well as various awards for each team, and a male and female athlete of the year.
The team awards were first on the agenda. Each of the 6 teams has 5 awards to hand out to their players. The categories are Rookie of the Year, Defensive player of the Year, Leadership Award, Most Improved, and Most Valuable Player.
The women’s soccer team awarded Kate Osadchuk with the Rookie of the Year. Brynn Swan captured the Defensive player of the Year. Mel Warketine took home the Leadership award. The most improved player on the team was Breanne Mahara. The Most Valuable Player went to Kristi Larson.
The men’s soccer team handed Arvid Neuefeld the Rookie of the Year award with his phenomenal freshman season. Jon Janke received the Defensive player of the Year via satellite from Brazil. The Most Improved player for the men’s team went to Eric Plett. Both the Leadership Award and the Most Valuable Player were awarded to Mario Giesbrecht.
Crystal Harms kicked off the awards for the women’s basketball team. She got the medal for Rookie of the Year. The Defensive player of the Year went to Elena Rempel. Brianna Scully was rewarded for her hard work all season by receiving the Most Improved award. Adding to her previous hardware, Kristi Larson was recognized for her spectacular senior year with both the Leadership Award as well as the Most Valuable Player.
The men’s basketball team awarded Kyle Buhler as Rookie of the Year. Keenan Reimer took home the Most Improved award. Johnathan Thompson was weighed down a little bit with three medals around his neck. JT was awarded the Defensive player of the Year, Leadership, and Most Valuable Player for his team.
Clarice Martens earned the Rookie of the Year award for the women’s volleyball team. The Defensive player of the Year went to Katelyn Corbin. Emily Van Der Meer walked away with the Most Improved award. Heidi Martens, in her graduating year, saw her hard work on and off the court awarded with the Leadership award as well as the Most Valuable Player award.
The men’s volleyball team recognized Connor Wiebe with the Rookie of the Year award. Josh Doerksen was awarded both the Defensive player of the Year and the Leadership Award. Wyatt “The Cowboy” Plett took home the Most Improved award in his rookie season. The men’s team awarded Kevin Hildebrand for his dominant season with the Most Valuable Player honor.
After these awards were handed out, Cameron McKenzie came up to hand out the scholar athletes awards. Cameron announced that 44 of our 65 athletes had maintained a 3.0 GPA or higher. It was also announced that the Men’s Volleyball team had the highest GPA among the 6 varsity teams. This brought an uproar to everyone at the banquet as no one, not even the men’s volleyball, expected this to be the case.
The final awards of the night were the Female and Male Athletes of the Year. After a phenomenal year in net for the soccer team and an arguably better year for the basketball team, Kristina Larson received the Female Athlete of the Year award. Kristi made the MCAC All-Conference Team in soccer and MCAC All-Conference Team as well as NCCAA All-Region Second Team in basketball. The Male Athlete of the Year was awarded to Kevin Hildebrand who was dominant in both the MCAC and the NIVC conferences. Kevin was chosen to the NIVC All-Conference Team as well as to the First Team All American. Both these athletes are graduating this year and will surely be missed.
10 College Crescent
Otterburne, Manitoba, Canada, R0A 1G0
Phone: (204) 433-7488 or (800) 668-7768
Fax: (204) 433-7158
Copyright @ 2015 Providence
Privacy Policy